If you sustain a workplace accident in New Jersey, you may be entitled to workers’ compensation benefits that cover your medical expenses and some of your missed wages. However, it helps to familiarize yourself with the critical deadlines that apply to the claims process.
These deadlines play a significant role in determining the success and efficiency of your claim and missing them could result in unnecessary delays or having your claim denied. Below are some of the critical time limits in your New Jersey workers’ compensation claim.
Reporting the injury
The first critical deadline is reporting your injury to your employer. In New Jersey, you have 14 days to do so, although the law provides up to 90 days for some cases. Failing to meet this deadline may jeopardize your claim, so it’s crucial to inform your employer promptly.
Filing your claim
You have limited time for filing a workers’ compensation claim. The deadline in New Jersey is two years from the date of your workplace accident and missing that deadline will likely result in the loss of your right to claim benefits.
Appealing a Denied Claim
If your workers’ compensation claim is denied by the insurance company, you have a limited time to file an appeal. Generally, you have two years from the date of the denial to file an Application for an Informal Hearing or a Formal Claim Petition. Missing this deadline may significantly impact your chances of receiving the benefits you deserve.
Get the necessary help
There may be other deadlines or requirements depending on the specifics of your case and it is crucial to do everything right and protect your claim. As such, seeking legal guidance to help you through the process and protect your rights is essential.