Under New Jersey law, an employee who sustains an injury or develops an occupational illness may be entitled to financial restitution through the employer-funded workers’ compensation program. Workers’ compensation benefits are designed to help those hurt on the job obtain the medical care, replacement wages and other benefits they need.
However, there are a couple of time constraints you need to understand when filing a workers’ compensation claim.
What time limits should you know?
Every state has specific timeframes within which an injured worker must notify the employer of their work-related injury. In New Jersey, you usually only have 14 days to inform your employer of your workplace injury (with a maximum of 90 days, in some cases).
Next, you have to watch the statute of limitations. This is the legally approved time period for filing a formal claim. In New Jersey, you have two years from the date of your injury or the diagnosis of your occupation-related illness to file your workers’ compensation claim. Your claim is likely to be declined if you miss this important deadline.
Why are statutes of limitations in place?
There are a number of common-sense reasons why statutes of limitations are in place.
Without the statute of limitations, a worker could show up decades after leaving their job to sue for an injury that never happened at work in the first place. Obviously, by this time there wouldn’t be sufficient evidence or reliable witnesses to bolster the claim. By guaranteeing timely resolutions of workers’ comp claims, the statute of limitations also ensures that the victim receives prompt medical care and other benefits.
Every occupation has its share of hazards. Find out how you can pursue the compensation you deserve following a workplace injury or illness.